New Life Radio
Home Read the Latest News Media - Images & More Contact Us View our Webcam Listen Live!

          
Travelling by Road, Rail, Sea, Air
(and Wheelchair) in North America
September to October 2016
Mike Fox
audio book - 6 parts, the following chapter list is based on the book,
each chapter is separated by 5 second piece of music.
(we suggest you do not listen to the audio on New Life Radio at the same time)
 
date chapter title page in book part

total minutes
each part

  preface vii 1 of 6 Listen Part 1 of 6
Thursday 08 September The Perfect Start 1-2    
Friday 09 September The Longest Day 3-4    
Saturday 10 September Our Friends in Chicago 5-10    
Sunday 11 September Remembering 9/11 11-13    
Monday 12 September Meeting the Amish 14-15   38 minutes total above - part 1
date chapter title page in book part

total minutes
each part

Tuesday 13 September Winona Lake 16-17 2 of 6 Listen Part 2 of 6
Wednesday 14  September The Railway Museum 18-19    
Thursday 15 September New Paris to Vancouver 22-23    
Friday 16 September Touring Vancouver and the Recovery of the Missing Brownie 24-26    
Saturday 17 September Our Maiden Cruise 29-30    
Sunday 18 September Sailing in the Pacific 31-32   33 minutes total above- part 2
date chapter title page in book part

total minutes
each part

Monday 19 September Passage to Juneau 35-36 3 of 6 Listen Part 3 of 6
Tuesday 20 September The Yukon, Huskies, and a Scary Railway 37-39    
Wednesday 21 September Glacier Bay 40-41    
Thursday 22 September Crabbing at Ketchikan 45-46    
Friday 23 September The Inside Passage 47-48    
Saturday 24 September A Day in Vancouver 49-50   35 minutes total above - part 3
date chapter title page in book part

total minutes
each part

Sunday 25 September Butchart Gardens 51-53 4 of 6 Listen Part 4 of 6
Monday 26 September The Rocky Mountaineer (part 1) 56-59    
Tuesday 27 September The Rocky Mountaineer (part 2) 60-62    
Wednesday 28 September Crossing Over to the East of Canada 66-67   33 minutes total above - part 4
date chapter title page in book part

total minutes
each part

Thursday 29 September Tour of Toronto 68-70 5 of 6 Listen Part 5 of 6
Friday 30 September `Niagara Falls 71-72    
Saturday 01 October The Night Train to Montreal 75-77    
Sunday 02 October Touring Montreal 78-79   31 minutes total of above - part 5
date chapter title page in book part

total minutes
each part

Monday 03 October Quebec 82-84 6 of 6 Listen Part 6 of 6
Tuesday 04 October Strolling through Montreal 87-88    
Wednesday 05 October Homeward Bound 89-90    
Thursday 06 October Back to Reality 91    
  Epilogue 92    
  Author Description 93    
  About the Book 93   23 minutes total of above - part 6

                                                                       About the book
This is the story of an adventure experienced by Mike and his disabled wife Sylvia. Sylvia, who has Parkinson's disease, made the journey with the aid of a wheelchair across North America for four weeks in September and October 2016. They reacquainted themselves with old friends and made new ones. They experienced a succession of interesting and, in some cases, amusing encounters, along with one instance that verged on the miraculous.

Mike and Sylvia encountered an interesting array of facts, figures, and opinions from a wide stratum of North American society, and Mike comments on a few of his own personal reflections on the people and places he came across. They explored major cities and rural communities, including an Amish community in Indiana, and areas of pristine wilderness. They also took a cruise to Alaska, travelled on the Rocky Mountaineer Express Train, and visited the Niagara Falls and the Quebec World Heritage Site.

                           Your may listen online, but you may not copy.
                                                             The copyright is held by Mike Fox 
                                                      narrated by Mike Coles at New Life Radio


back to NEW LIFE RADIO home page

190719

 


New life radio is supported by:


1997-2018 New Life Radio